EECS Honors Excellence: Highlights from the 2024 Graduation Dinner and Awards Ceremony

The EECS Graduation Dinner and Awards Ceremony, held on April 25, 2024, marked a significant celebration of the accomplishments of EECS graduates and honored students for their exceptional performance in undergraduate and graduate studies. The event also featured the prestigious presentation of the KU EECS Distinguished Service (KEDS) award, recognizing individuals who have made significant contributions to the fields of electrical engineering, computer engineering, or computer science, as well as outstanding service contributions to the EECS department. Additionally, outstanding students were acknowledged and awarded for their exemplary academic achievements and valuable contributions to the EECS community.

Professor Erik Perrins, Chair of the EECS department, opened the ceremony with words of congratulations and encouragement for the new graduates. He commended them for their remarkable achievements and invited them to reflect on their journey within the department. Professor Perrins emphasized the significance of community and urged the graduates to serve as exemplary ambassadors for the EECS department in their future endeavors.

The KU EECS Distinguished Service (KEDS) Award Recipients

At the ceremony, Mr. Brian Ruf, chair of the EECS advisory board, had the honor of presenting the KEDS award to the distinguished recipients, Joseph Michael (Mike) Oberg and Victor S. Frost.

Joseph Michael (Mike) Oberg. Mr. Oberg, recipient of the 2024 KEDS Award, embodies excellence in the field of aviation engineering. Graduating with a Bachelor's and Master's degree in Electrical Engineering from KU in 1972 and 1974, respectively, Mr. Oberg's illustrious career spans decades marked by groundbreaking innovations and steadfast dedication.

Throughout his tenure, Mr. Oberg's work at King Radio Corporation and Garmin has significantly shaped the landscape of aviation technology. Notable achievements include pioneering the design of all-digital autopilot systems, including the renowned GFC700, a cornerstone of Garmin's Autoland technology, which received the esteemed 2020 Collier Trophy.

Beyond technical prowess, Mr. Oberg's leadership and mentorship have left an indelible mark on the industry. Known for fostering creative solutions and nurturing young talent, his contributions extend beyond inventions to shaping the next generation of engineers.

Victor S. Frost. Dr. Frost, another recipient of the 2024 KEDS Award, stands as a luminary figure in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. A product of KU EECS, Dr. Frost's journey is characterized by visionary leadership, groundbreaking research, and unwavering commitment to the advancement of the field.

As a previous chair of the KU EECS Department and the Dan F. Servey Distinguished Professor, Dr. Frost's impact transcends academia. His tenure at the helm of the KU Telecommunications and Information Technology Center (ITTC) saw unparalleled growth and innovation, with research endeavors garnering substantial acclaim and funding.

Dr. Frost's influence extends beyond national borders, as evidenced by his pivotal role at the National Science Foundation, where he shaped the Future Internet Architecture program. With a prolific publication record and leadership roles in professional societies, including the IEEE Communication Society, Dr. Frost's legacy as a trailblazer and educator continues to inspire generations.

Joseph Michael (Mike) Oberg and Dr. Victor S. Frost epitomize the essence of the EECS KEDS award through their exceptional contributions, visionary leadership, and unwavering commitment to advancing the frontiers of electrical engineering and computer science. Their achievements stand as a testament to the enduring legacy of excellence fostered by the KU EECS community.

Professor Perrins and Mr. Ruf pose with the KEDS Award Recipients


The EECS Graduation Dinner & Awards Ceremony served as a fitting tribute to the achievements of graduates and esteemed professionals, fostering a sense of pride and camaraderie within the EECS community.