• Home
  • Rowland Receives ASEE 2015 Meritorious Service Award

Rowland Receives ASEE 2015 Meritorious Service Award

November 14, 2015

EECS Professor James Rowland received the 2015 Meritorious Service Award from the ASEE Electrical and Computer Engineering Division. Rowland is a Fellow of the IEEE. He has previously received the William E. Sayle II Achievement Award (1986), and the Edwin C. Jones, Jr. Meritorious Service Award (2002), both from the IEEE Education Society. He has also previously received numerous teaching awards, including the IEEE Region 5 Outstanding Educator Award (1994), Excellence in Teaching: Harry Talley Award, EECS Dept (1999 and 2005) and a KU School of Engineering Sharp Teaching Professorship, (2013-16). The citation on his 2015 Meritorious Service Award reads “for meritorious service to the ECE Division, the ERM Division, the ABET activities of ASEE, and to the Electrical and Computer Engineering profession through teaching, research, leadership, professional service, and textbook writing.”

Jim Rowland
Jim Rowland

See http://www.asee.org/member-resources/awards/full-list-of-awards/other-di...

Department Events
KU Today
High school seniors can apply to the SELF Program, a four-year enrichment and leadership experience
Engineering students build concrete canoes, Formula race cars, unmanned planes, and rockets for competitions nationwide
More first and second place awards in student AIAA aircraft design contests than any other school in the world
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times