Shannon Blunt

Primary office:
Eaton Hall, room 3034
University of Kansas
1520 W. 15th St.
Lawrence, KS 66045
Second office:
Nichols Hall, room 256

Primary Research Interests

  • Adaptive Signal Processing for Radar and Communications
  • Array Processing
  • Interference Cancellation
  • Waveform Diversity/Design for Physical Systems
  • Spectrum Engineering


  • Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering, University of Missouri, 2002 (advisor: K.C. Ho)
  • M.S. in Electrical Engineering, University of Missouri, 2000 (advisor: K.C  Ho)
  • B.S. (with honors) in Electrical Engineering, University of Missouri, 1999

Industrial Experience

  • Radar Division - US Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, DC, 2002-2005


  • EECS 412 Electronic Circuits II
  • EECS 420 Electromagnetics II
  • EECS 644 Digital Signal Processing
  • EECS 844 Adaptive Signal Processing
  • Tutorial on "Spectrum Engineering & Waveform Diversity" at IEEE Radar Conference series in collaboration with Prof. Hugh Griffiths of University College London


Google Scholar Page

  • Adaptive Signal Processing for Radar and Communications
  • Radar Waveform Optimization/Implementation
  • Radar Pulse Compression
  • Space-Time Adaptive Processing
  • Array Processing
  • Radar Spectrum Engineering
  • Radar-Embedded Communications
  • Interference Cancellation
  • Multistatic Radar
  • Biomedical Imaging


  • IEEE AESS Radar Systems Panel (2007-present)
  • MSS Tri-Service Radar Symposium Program Committee (2010-present)
  • Subject Matter Expert for Sensiac Military Sensing Information Analysis Center (2010-present)


  • Director, KU Radar Systems & Remote Sensing Laboratory (RSL) (2011-present)
  • Member, IEEE/AESS Board of Governors (2018-present)
  • Contributed to update of IEEE Standard 686 - Standard Radar Definitions (2016)
  • Faculty Advisor, KU IEEE student chapter (2012-2015)
  • General Chair, 2011 IEEE Radar Conference, Kansas City, MO
  • Associate Editor for IEEE Trans. Aerospace and Electronic Systems (2008-present)
  • Editorial Board for IET Radar, Sonar, & Navigation (2008-present)
  • Chair, Conferences Committee, IEEE/AESS Radar Systems Panel (2012-present)
  • Chair, IEEE/AESS Nathanson Memorial Award Committee (2014-present)


  • IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society
  • IEEE Signal Processing Society
  • Association of Old Crows
  • Eta Kappa Nu
  • Tau Beta Pi

International Research Engagement

  • Chair, NATO SET-179 research task group on Dynamic Waveform Diversity & Design (2011-2014)
  • Member, NATO SET-182 research task group on Radar Spectrum Engineering & Management (2011-2014)
  • Co-Chair, NATO SET-204 research specialists meeting on Waveform Diversity, Berlin, Germany (2014)
  • Member, NATO SET-227 research task group on Cognitive Radar (2015-2017)

Graduate Students

  • Erik Biehl, currently pursuing MS EE.
  • Christian Jones, currently pursuing MS EE.
  • George Davis, currently pursuing MS EE.
  • Alex Ramos, currently pursuing PhD EE (co-advising, Prof. Alessandro Salandrino is lead advisor).
  • Garrett Zook, currently pursuing MS EE.
  • Dana Hemmingsen, currently pursuing MS EE.
  • Charles Mohr, currently pursuing PhD EE.
  • Brandon Ravenscroft, currently pursuing PhD EE.
  • Jonathan Owen, currently pursuing MS EE.
  • Lumumba Harnett, currently pursuing PhD EE.
  • Patrick McCormick, currently pursuing PhD EE.
  • John Jakabosky, currently pursuing PhD EE, with the Radar Division of the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) in Washington, DC.
  • Shadi Pir Hosseinloo, currently pursuing PhD EE (co-advising, Prof. Jon Brumberg of KU Dept. of Speech, Language, Hearing is lead advisor).
  • Mohanad Al-Ibadi, currently pursuing PhD EE (co-advising, Dr. John Paden is lead advisor).
  • Peng Seng (Isaac) Tan, PhD EE 2017, with  Eaton Cooper Lighting in Peachtree City, GA (co-advised, Prof. Jim Stiles was lead advisor).
  • Audrey Seybert, MS EE 2016, with Honeywell FM&T in Kansas City, MO (co-advised, Prof. Chris Allen is lead advisor).
  • Dakota Henke, MS EE 2015, with Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, NM.
  • Erik Hornberger, MS EE 2015, with Sumitomo Heavy Industries in Yokohama, Japan.
  • Lane Ryan, MS EE 2014, with Honeywell FM&T in Kansas City, MO (co-advised, Prof. Chris Allen was lead advisor).
  • Dr. Justin Metcalf, MS EE 2011 and PhD EE 2015, with the Sensors Directorate of the Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL) at Wright-Patterson AFB, OH.
  • Matthew Cook, MS EE 2010, with Garmin in Olathe, KS.
  • Casey Biggs, MS EE 2009, with 13iggs Consulting in Lawrence, KS.
  • Tsz Ping (Charley) Chan, MS EE 2008, with Bloomberg LP in New York, NY.
  • Padmaja Yatham, MS EE 2007, with Ericsson in Richardson, TX.
  • William Dower, MS EE 2007, with Raytheon in Allen, TX and currently pursuing PhD EE at the University of Oklahoma.
  • Dr. Thomas Higgins, MS EE 2007 and PhD EE 2011, with the Radar Division of the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) in Washington, DC.



Selected Publications


  1. S.D. Blunt and E.S. Perrins, eds., Radar & Communication Spectrum Sharing, IET, 2018.
  2. M. Wicks, E. Mokole, S.D. Blunt, V. Amuso, and R. Schneible, eds., Principles of Waveform Diversity and Design, SciTech Publishing, 2010.

» Show All Publications

Selected Awards & Honors

Honors/Awards - Research

  • IEEE Fellow for "contributions to radar waveform diversity and design", 2016
  • 2012 IEEE/AESS Fred Nathanson Memorial Radar Award for "contributions to adaptive radar signal processing and waveform diversity"
  • Air Force Office of Scientific Research - Young Investigator Award, 2008
  • Miller Professional Development Award for Distinguished Research, KU School of Engineering, 2008
  • Naval Research Laboratory Alan Berman Research Publication Award, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009
  • Bellows Scholar, School of Engineering, University of Kansas, 2010, 2011, 2016
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Award in Electrical Engineering, University of Missouri, 2001

Honors/Awards - Teaching

  • Harry Talley Excellence in Teaching Award, KU EECS Department, 2008, 2013
  • Celebration of Teaching Honoree for EECS, KU Center for Teaching Excellence, 2013
  • Donald K. Anderson Graduate Student Teaching Assistant Award, University of Missouri, 2000

Research Honors/Awards of Current/Former Students

  • Brandon Ravenscroft, Finalist, Student Paper Contest, 2017 IET International Conference on Radar Systems, Belfast, UK
  • Cenk Sahin, Finalist, Industry Paper Contest, 2017 IET International Conference on Radar Systems, Belfast, UK
  • Patrick McCormick -- 1st Place, Student Paper Contest, 2017 IEEE Radar Conference, Seattle, WA
  • Patrick McCormick -- 3rd Place, Student Paper Contest, 2016 IEEE Radar Conference, Philadelphia, PA
  • Cenk Sahin -- National Research Council Fellowship, 2016
  • Lumumba Harnett -- National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship, 2015
  • Lumumba Harnett -- KU Chancellor's Fellowship, 2014
  • Erik Hornberger -- KU Self Graduate Fellowship, 2012
  • Justin Metcalf -- KU Richard & Wilma Moore MS Thesis Award, 2012
  • John Jakabosky -- Finalist, Student Paper Contest, 2012 IEEE Radar Conference, Atlanta, GA
  • Thomas Higgins, KU Richard & Wilma Moore MS Thesis Award, 2008

Degree Programs
Explore: Disciplines
Department Events
KU Today
High school seniors can apply to the SELF Program, a four-year enrichment and leadership experience
Engineering students build concrete canoes, Formula race cars, unmanned planes, and rockets for competitions nationwide
More first and second place awards in student AIAA aircraft design contests than any other school in the world
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times