Skip redundant pieces

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

EECS Student Shaina Krumme Won Runner-Up Prize at the Annual MIT Hackathon for Best Use of Firebase

Published on October 24th, 2017 by Victor Frost

The team of Shaina Krumme (University of Kansas), Nihar Mauskar (UCSD), and Ajay Ramesh (Berkeley) successfully participated in the 2017 HackMIT, the annual MIT hackathon. Their project -SeQR Scanner and Generator- won the runner-up prize sponsored by Google (Best Use of Firebase). Only approximately 9% of all participants won prizes at this event where most participants came from top-ranked universities. Read more...

EECS students continue to receive Garmin Excellence Scholarships

Published on October 24th, 2017 by Victor Frost

Garmin Excellence Scholarships were first awarded in 2014. This year xx students received support from the $1 million gift through the Kao Family Foundation to fund programs and scholarships in EECS. Read more...

EECS Faculty to study Kansans' inequality of broadband access and cybersecurity issues

Published on October 24th, 2017 by Victor Frost

An interdisciplinary research effort is being funded by the National Science Foundation to study digital inequalities in Kansas and begin designing a set of cybersecurity and privacy tools to protect public broadband users. Dr. Bill Staples, professor of sociology is collaborating with Dr. Perry Alexander, the AT&T Foundation Distinguished Professor of Electrical & Computer Science and director of KU's Information & Telecommunication Technology Center on this research. Read more...

EECS Ph.D. Student Receives Best Graduate Student Paper Award at the 2017 International Telemetering Conference

Published on October 24th, 2017 by Victor Frost

Sumant Pathak won Best Graduate Student Paper award at the 2017 International Telemetering Conference. The paper, titled "LDPC-coded APSK for Aeronautical Telemetry,” presents some initial results for a three-year, $2.5M research contract awarded to KU that began in 2016 under the supervision of Professor Erik Perrins. This marks the eighth time since 2005 KU has won a best paper award at the International Telemetering Conference. Read more...