• Home
  • Trio of EECS Freshmen Earn Summerfield, Watkins-Berger Scholarships

Trio of EECS Freshmen Earn Summerfield, Watkins-Berger Scholarships

October 16, 2009

Three EECS freshmen have received prestigious Summerfield and Watkins-Berger scholarships. Michael Albert (CoE) and Cameron Atwill (CS) were recipients of Summerfield scholarships while Alexa Clements (EE) was honored with a Watkins-Berger scholarship. The awards provide $4,500 per year for four years to each student.

The scholarships, funded through KU Endowment, are awarded to top students graduating from Kansas high schools in recognition of their outstanding academic achievements and records of community service and leadership.

The Summerfield scholarship, KU’s first merit scholarship, was established in 1929 by alumnus Solon Summerfield with a gift to KU Endowment. He supported the scholarship program throughout his lifetime and, in his will, provided for its continuation through gifts from the Summerfield Foundation.

The Watkins-Berger scholarships for women were created through gifts to KU Endowment from the estate of philanthropist Elizabeth Miller Watkins and from alumnus Arthur Berger.

Albert, Atwill and Clements are from Natoma, Salina and Lawrence, respectively.

Department Events
KU Today
High school seniors can apply to the SELF Program, a four-year enrichment and leadership experience
Engineering students build concrete canoes, Formula race cars, unmanned planes, and rockets for competitions nationwide
More first and second place awards in student AIAA aircraft design contests than any other school in the world
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times