• Home
  • Graduation Banquet Celebrates Hard Work, Dedication

Graduation Banquet Celebrates Hard Work, Dedication

May 25, 2009

The EECS Graduation Banquet was held on May 16. Faculty honored a number of outstanding seniors. On behalf of the graduating class, Kappa Nu president Matthew Cook presented EECS Assistant Professor Andy Gill with the Harry Talley Excellence in Teaching Award.

Paul F. Huebner Memorial Awards

EECS Associate Professor Nancy Kinnersley presented the Paul F. Huebner Memorial Awards. Huebner received his undergraduate degree in accounting concentrating in computer science and a master’s in computer science both from KU. Huebner Awards honor teaching assistants who best exemplify the role of a teacher. They are intended to not only reward good teaching, but also to encourage students to consider teaching as a career.

Mark SnyderAdam SmithCarla Castillo and Joseph Makarewicz

Richard K. & Wilma S. Moore Thesis Award

This award is given in honor of Richard Moore, distinguished professor emeritus of electrical engineering. A pioneer in the field of microwave-based satellite remote sensing, Professor Moore was a prolific inventor of remote-sensing devices that helped revolutionize the mapping and monitoring of the Earth’s surface. EECS Assistant Professor Shannon Blunt announced the Moore Awards for the best thesis and Ph.D. dissertation.

 Aaron Smalter (thesis) and Garrin Kimmell (dissertation)

Outstanding Senior Academic Achievement Awards

This award, given to one graduating senior in EE, CS, and CoE, is based on overall outstanding achievement.

 Michael Cribbs (EE), Kevin Matlage (CS) and Cory Chermok (CoE)

Ellermeier Memorial Award

Robert Ellermeier was a former electrical engineering faculty member and associate dean of the Graduate School. Any engineering student who has demonstrated scholastic achievement is eligible for the Ellermeier Award, which EECS Assistant Professor Carl Leuschen presented.

 Jonathan Lanning

Everitt Awards

Sponsored by the International Engineering Consortium, the Everitt Awards honor EE, CoE and CS seniors in the top 10 percent of their class and interested in areas of communications and computers, and in outside activities. EECS Professor Jim Rowland conferred the Everitt Awards.

 Ryan Challacombe and Kevin Matlage

Rummer Design Awards

Professor Emeritus Dale Rummer’s dedication to engineering design was the impetus for these awards. Seniors who complete outstanding work in their CoE or EE capstone design courses are eligible for the awards. EECS Chair Glenn Prescott and EECS Associate Professor Jim Stiles honored the winning teams.

 Mark DavenportJacob Olson and Mohammed Al-Enazi (CoE)

Christopher BubeckPaul Pansing, Eric Meyer, and Aleksabdr Lupandin (EE)

Harry Talley Excellence in Teaching Awards

Graduating seniors vote on the EECS professor who has contributed significantly to their undergraduate education and has developed a strong rapport with them. Eta Kappa Nu president Matthew Cook presented a first-year KU professor winner of the Harry Talley Award.

 Andy Gill

Department Events
KU Today
High school seniors can apply to the SELF Program, a four-year enrichment and leadership experience
Engineering students build concrete canoes, Formula race cars, unmanned planes, and rockets for competitions nationwide
More first and second place awards in student AIAA aircraft design contests than any other school in the world
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times