• Home
  • EECS Graduation Banquet

EECS Graduation Banquet

May 3, 2013

More than 160 people attended the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Graduation Dinner and Awards Ceremony in the Alton Ballroom at Pachamama’s on Thursday.

Graduating EECS students and their invited guests, along with EECS Advisory Board members, faculty, and staff, enjoyed a buffet dinner before the awards presentation. Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs Arvin Agah served as emcee of the event.

In addition to the awards, Eta Kappa Nu Social Chair Edirin Aghoghovbia introduced a roast video put together by seniors. The movie spoofed a number of EECS professors. It was the hit of the evening.

The evening ended with a presentation by former IEEE president and senior Jalashree Mehta. On behalf of the Class of 2013, she presented Chair Glenn Prescott with a plaque to thank EECS faculty and staff for their hard work.

While the banquet traditionally has been held on graduation weekend, it was moved up to allow Advisory Board members to attend. The Advisory Board meeting took place the following day.

Outstanding Senior Award

Dakota Henke, Keeler Russell, and Michael Tabone received Outstanding Senior Awards at the banquet.
Dakota Henke, Keeler Russell, and Michael Tabone received Outstanding Senior Awards at the banquet.

Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies David Petrpresented these awards based on overall achievement to a graduating senior in EE, CoE, and CS.

Dakota Henke, Keeler Russell, and Michael Tabone

Ellermeier Memorial Award

A nontraditional student with outstanding scholastic achievement is the recipient of the Ellermeier award. It is given in honor of former EE Professor and Associate Dean of the Graduate School Robert Ellermeier. EECS Associate Professor James Stiles presented the award.

Rudy Christoper

Paul F. Huebner Memorial Awards

Paul Huebner was a KU graduate with a BS in accounting, concentrating in CS, and a graduate degree in CS. The award is intended to reward good teaching and encourage students to consider teaching as a career. EECS Associate Professor Nancy Kinnersley praised their work ethic and commitment to their students.

Brian Cordill, Mahmood Hameed, and Annette Tetmeyer

Richard K. & Wilma S. Moore Thesis Award

This award is given in memory of Distinguished Professor Emeritus Richard Moore. EECS Professor Ken Demarestpresented the awards for best graduate thesis and doctoral dissertation.

Cenk Sahin (thesis) and Brian Quanz (dissertation)

Graduated with Honors

Robert Knight, Jalashree Mehta, Patrick Shields, and Michael Tabone

To view photos of the event, please go to the EECS Facebook page.

Department Events
KU Today
High school seniors can apply to the SELF Program, a four-year enrichment and leadership experience
Engineering students build concrete canoes, Formula race cars, unmanned planes, and rockets for competitions nationwide
More first and second place awards in student AIAA aircraft design contests than any other school in the world
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times